focused black boy and girl watching interesting book

Key Stage One

The National Curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘Key Stages’. Key Stage One covers children between the ages of 5 and 7 in Years 1 and 2. As home educators we do not need to follow the National Curriculum, but as we employ a semi-structured approach, it is a useful guide for core subjects like English and Maths and we use a child-led, cross-curricular topic approach for other subjects.

Here you can find all Key Stage One blog posts for:

English & Maths


Cross-Curricular Topics